In order to become an Alabama life insurance agent you must complete a pre-licensing education course, complete a background check, pay the required fees, and pass an exam.
However, if you hold a CLU, CIC, CFP, ChFC, CEBS, FLMI, LUTCF designation or hold a 4 year Bachelors degree in insurance you may be exempt from the required pre-licensing education course. To get started review the list of requirements below.
Alabama Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be a resident and live in the state of Alabama
- Must be at least 18 years of age or older
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Complete a 20 hour pre-license education course
- Background Check
- Pay the required fees
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $50 Exam Fee
- $60 License Fee
Alabama Life Insurance License Process
- Complete Pre-licensing Course. First you need to complete a 20 hour pre-licensing education course.
- Register. Next you need to register for the exam, and pay the required exam fee.
- Take Exam. Take the exam and pass it with a 70% or better.
- Apply for License. Finally, you need to complete a background check, apply for the license, and pay the required license fee.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to obtain your Alabama Life Insurance License you can visit the Alabama Dept. of Insurance Website or call them at (334) 241-4141.