In order to obtain your Alaska Life Insurance License you must study the course material, complete fingerprints, and pass an exam.
However what unique about getting your life insurance license in Alaska is that you do not need to complete any pre-licensing education course. Instead you will have to study the course material on your own time and pass the exam when you are ready. Below is a list of requirements and steps you need to take in order to pass the exam.
Alaska Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be a resident and reside in the state of Alaska.
- Must be 18 years of age or older.
- Must be competent, trustworthy, and reliable.
- No felony convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty and breach of trust.
- Complete finger prints.
- Pay the required fees.
- Pass an exam.
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $75 License Fee
- $89 Exam Fee
Alaska Life Insurance License Process
- Study For Exam. First you will need to buy the necessary pre-licensing course material and study for the exam.
- Register For Exam and Pay The Required Fees. Next once you’ve studied for the exam you need to register for the exam and pay the required exam fee.
- Take The Exam. Third, take the exam and pass it with a 70% or better.
- Apply For The License. Once you’ve passed the exam you can apply for license and pay the required license fees.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to get your Alaska Life Insurance License visit the Alaska Department of Insurance website or call them at (907) 465-2515.