In order to become a life insurance agent in Arizona you must, complete fingerprints, do a background check, and pass a state approved exam.
The one thing that makes Arizona unique compared to other states is that they do not require any pre-licensing education course to be taken prior to applying for your life insurance license. Below is a list of the pre-licensing requirements and information needed to get started.
Arizonia Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be a resident and live in the state of Arizona
- Must be at least 18 years of age or older
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Pay required fees
- Pass the exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $20 Fingerprinting Fee
- $120 License Fee
- $49 Exam Fee
- $40 Rescheduling fee if you have to reschedule your exam
Arizona Life Insurance License Process
- Study For Exam. You don’t not need to pass a pre-licensing education course in the state of Arizona but you will need to study for the exam in order pass it.
- Register For Exam. Next you will have to register for the exam and pay the required exam fees.
- Submit Fingerprints. Your will have to submit your fingerprints for a background check and pay the required fee.
- Take Exam. Fourth, you will have to take the exam and pass it with at least a 70% or better.
- Apply For Your License. Once you’ve passed your exam you can apply for you life insurance license, complete the necessary paperwork, and pay the required fees.
Contacts And More Information
For more information on how to obtain your Arizona Life Insurance License you can visit the Arizona Dept. of Insurance Website here, or call them at 1-877-660-0964 if you live in Arizona or at (602) 364-4457 if you live outside of Arizona.