In order to obtain a California Life Insurance License you are required to be licensed, complete prelicensing study time, and pass an examination.
However if you hold certain designations such as an LUTCF, CLU, CEBS, CFP, ChfC, or a FLMI, you may be exempt from the 20 hours of pre-licensing education needed. On top of that if you are applying for other licenses such as your fire and causticity agent license you will only have to take the ethic and California Insurance Code study course once. Below is a list of requirements to help you get started.
California Life Insurance License Requirements
- FingerPrint Impressions which must be submitted before taking your life insurance exam
- Must be 18 years of age or older
- Must be a resident of the state of California
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Must be competent, trustworthy, and reliable
- Background Check
- Must complete the 20 hours of approved Life Only pre-licensing study
- Must complete the 12 hours of approved pre-licensing study on ethics and the California Insurance Code.
- Pass the Life Only Exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $128 License Filing Fee which covers a 2 year term
- $37 Examination Fee for each scheduled exam
- $128 Renewal Fee, $192 if you are late
California Life Insurance License Process
- Finger Prints. Get finger print impressions done at an approved location. You will want to do this even before you file for an application.
- File a 1033. If you have been convicted of felony, especially one where you have been placed in a position of trust you will have to complete a 1033 application of consent.
- Complete Training Courses. You must complete a 20 hour life only prelicensing training course and 12 ethics and California Life Insurance Code study course.
- Pass Qualifying Life Examination. Next you take a life only qualifying examination before you can apply the life insurance application.
- Apply For Your Life Insurance License. Once you’ve passed your qualifying exam you need to complete the life insurance application.
- Fees. You will have to pay the state license and exam fees.
- Schedule And Pass The Exam. Finally, you need to schedule the life only exam and pass it with at a least 70% or better.
Contacts And More Information
For more information on how to become a life insurance agent in California, check out the California Department of Insurance or call 1-800-927-HELP if you live in California or 213-897-8921 if you life outside California.