In order to become a life insurance agent in Colorado you must be of age, complete the required pre-licensing education, and pass an exam. However Colorado does not require you to have any fingerprinting done in order to obtain your licenses.
However, you may be exempt from taking the required pre-licensing education if you have the following designations which include a CFP, CIC, CLU, CEBS, ChFC, FLMI, or a LUTCF. Their is no exemption for taking the required examination. Below is a list of requirements to help you get started.
Colorado Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be a resident of the State Of Colorado
- Must be 18 years of age or older
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Complete 50 hours of pre-licensing education
- Pass a test
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $73 Exam Fee
- $71 License Fee
Colorado Life Insurance License Process
- Pre-Licensing Education. First you will need to take 50 hours of pre-licensing education. That included 40 pre-license education and 10 hours of Colorado specific training.
- Make A Reservation. Next you will need to make a reservation to take your exam and pay the $73 exam fee.
- Take Test. Third, you need to take, complete, and pass the exam with a 70% or better.
- Apply For License. Finally, once you’ve passed the test you can apply for your license online and pay the license fee.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to obtain your Colorado Life Insurance License you can go to the Colorado Division of Insurance website or call them at (303) 894-7499