In order to become a life insurance agent in Delaware you must complete a background check, be competent and trustworthy, pay the required fees, and pass an exam.
Delaware does not require you to complete a pre-licensing education course but you will have to buy the required study materials and study for the exam on your own time. To get started review the list of requirements below.
Delaware Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be at least 18 years of age or older.
- Must be resident and live in the state of Delaware
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Must be competent, trustworthy, and reliable
- Background Check
- Pay the required Fees
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $75 License Fee
- $90 Exam Fee
Delaware Life Insurance License Process
- Study For Exam. First you will need buy the required study materials and be competent in the laws, ethics, and understand how an insurance agent conducts business in the state of Delaware.
- Make a Reservation. Once you have a clear understanding of everything that you are required to know for the exam you must make a reservation to take the exam and pay the required fees.
- Take Exam. Third once you’ve made your reservation take the exam and pass it with a 70% or better.
- Apply For License. Finally, once you’ve passed the exam you can apply for the license, complete the required background check, and pay the required fee.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to get your Delaware Life Insurance License visit the Delaware Department of Insurance or call them at (302) 674-7390.