In order to obtain your Florida Life Insurance License you must have finger print impressions done, complete a require study course, and pass an exam.
What makes Florida different from other states is that in order to get your life insurance license you will also to get your variable annuity, and health insurance license along with it. However, if you have a CLU designation and have worked in the insurance industry for the past 4 years prior you will not be required to take the required prelicensing study course.
Florida Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be at least 18 years of age or older
- Must be a legal resident of Florida
- No felony convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Must complete a 40 hours prelicensing course
- Must obtain finger print impressions
- Pass the Life, Health, and Variable Annuity Exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $50.30 Finger Printing Fee
- $42 State Exam Fee
- $5 License ID
- $60 Appointment Fee for Residents
- $60 Appointment Fee for Nonresidents plus a $6 fee for every county the plan to transact business in
Florida Life Insurance License Process
- Citizenship. You must be a citizen or Florida, 18 years of age, and live in Florida.
- Prelicensing Study Course. Complete the 40 hours prelicensing study course.
- Application & Fees. Complete the online application and pay the fees.
- Prerequisites. Send in Prequisites from step 2. If you completed the 40 hour study course the prelicensing education provider will send this in for you. However if you have a CLU designation or other prerequisites, you will have to send those in.
- Fingerprints. Complete and pay fee for finger print impressions.
- Notifications. Once everything has been sent it they will inform you of the status or if any deficiencies exist.
- Exam. Complete the exam with a 70% or higher.
- Print Your License. Finally, once you’ve passed the exam you can go online to print your license.
Contacts And More Information
You can get more information at the Florida Department of Financial Services or call them at 850-413-3137