In order to become a life insurance agent in Hawaii you must be trustworthy and competent, submit fingerprints for a background check, pay the required fees and pass an exam.
However in the state of Hawaii you are not required to take any pre-licensing education course, but you will still need to study the required material to pass the life insurance exam. To get started review the list of requirements below.
Hawaii Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be a resident and live in the state of Hawaii
- Must be at least 18 years of age or older
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Pay required fees
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $75 Exam Fee
- $300 – $400 License Fee. ( Fee Varies) You can view the Hawaii Producer Fees Here.
Hawaii Life Insurance License Process
- Study. First you will need get the required guides and study the exam. Since their is no require pre-licensing education course you will have to do all of this on your own time.
- Reservations. Next, you will need to reserve a date to take the exam and submit your fingerprints.
- Take Exam. Third you will need to take the Hawaii Life Insurance exam and pass it with a 70% or better.
- Apply For License. Finally, you will need to complete the Hawaii License application once you’ve passed the exam.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to obtain your Hawaii Life Insurance License you can visit the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs website or by calling them at (808) 586-279