In order to become a life insurance agent in Iowa you must study the required material, pay the required fees, and pass an exam.
However, in the state of Iowa you are not required to take a pre-licensing education course, unless you plan to sell indexed insurance in which case you will have to take 4 hour pre-license course. To get started review the list of requirements below.
Iowa Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be a resident and live in the state of Iowa
- Must be at least 18 years of age or older
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- 4 Hours of pre-licensing education if you plan to sell indexed insurance
- Pay the required fees
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $64 Exam Fee
- $50 License Fee
Iowa Life Insurance License Process
- Study. First, since their is no pre-license education course required you will need study for the exam on your own time.
- Make Exam Reservation. Once your ready schedule the exam and pay the required fees.
- Take Exam. Take the exam and pass it with a 70% or better.
- Apply For License. Once you’ve passed the exam you can apply for your license and pay the required fees.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to get your Iowa Life Insurance License you can visit the State of Iowa Insurance Division website or call them at (515) 281-7757.