In order to become a life insurance agent in Kentucky you need to complete a criminal background check, complete a pre-licensing education course, pay the require fees and pass an exam.
Their is no pre-licensing education exemptions or exemptions for the life only exam in Kentucky unless you are a licensed nonresident in which case you would not need to complete the pre-licensing course or take the required exam. To get start review the requirements below.
Kentucky Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be a resident and live in the state of Kentucky
- Must be at least 18 years of age or older
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Apply for a criminal background check report
- Complete 20 hours of pre-licensing education
- Pay the required fees
- Pass an Exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $50 Exam Fee
- $15 Criminal Background Check
- $40 License Fee
Kentucky Life Insurance License Process
- Complete Pre-licensing Course. First you need to register and take the 20 hour pre-licensing education course.
- Complete Background Check. Second you will need to apply for a criminal background check.
- Register. Next you need to register for the exam and pay the required fees.
- Take Exam. Fourth, take the exam and pass it with a 70% or higher
- Apply For The License. Finally, once you’ve passed the exam, and completed the pre-licensing course, and passed the background check you can apply for your license.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to get your Kentucky Life Insurance License visit the Kentucky Department of Insurance website or call them at (502) 564-6004.