In order to become a life insurance agent in Maryland you must be of age, complete the pre-licnesing education course, and pass a written exam. However one thing that makes Maryland unique is that they do not require any sort of fingerprints.
You may also be exempt from taking the the Maryland pre-licensing education course if you meet the following designations: CFP, CLU, CIC, CCEBS, ChFC, FLMI, LUTCF, or are a fellow of the Society of Actuaries. Below is a list of requirements to help you get started.
Maryland Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be a resident and live in the state of Maryland
- Must be 18 years of age or older
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Complete 60 hours of pre-licensing education
- Pass the exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $70 Exam Fee
- $54 License Fee
Maryland Life Insurance License Process
- Pre-license Education. First you will have to register for your pre-licensing education course and take 60 hours of required course time.
- Register. Next you need to register for your exam and pay the $70 exam fee. You will not be able to pay for your exam at the testing facility.
- Take Exam. Third you need to take, complete, and pass the exam with a 70% or better.
- Apply For License. Finally, once you’ve passed the exam you can apply for your license and pay the $54 license fee.
Contacts And More Information
For more information on how to obtain your Maryland Life Insurance License you can check out the Maryland Insurance Administration website or call them at (410) 468-2411.