In order to become a life insurance agent in Massachusetts you be of age, pay the required fees, and pass a state approved exam.
However what makes Massachusetts different from other states is that they do not require any pre-licensing education courses in order to receive your life insurance license. On top of that they don not require any fingerprints. Below is a list of requirements need to get your life insurance license.
Massachusetts Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be a resident and live in the state of Massachusetts
- Must be 18 years of age or older
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Pay the required fees
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $57 Exam Fee
- $225 License Fee
Massachusetts Life Insurance License Process
- Study For Exam. First, you will need to get the required study materials. Massachusetts does not require to take a pre-licensing education course.
- Register For Exam. Next you will have to register for the exam and pay the required fees.
- Take Exam. Third you must take the exam and pass it with a 70% or better.
- Apply For Your License. Finally, you can apply for your license and pay the required fees.
Contacts And More Information
For more information on how to obtain your Massachusetts Life Insurance License you can visit the Massachusetts Division of Insurance website or by calling them at (617) 521-7794 and opt for line #2.