In order to become a life insurance agent in Michigan you must complete a pre-licensing education course, an ethic course on Michigan insurance laws, complete a background check and pass an exam. In the state of Michigan you do not have to have fingerprints done.
However if you hold certain special designations such as a CEBS, ChFC, CIC, CFP, CLU, FLMI, LUTCF, or have an insurance degree with the required credits you may be exempt from the pre-licensing education course. However, their is no designation that will exempt you from taking the life insurance exam.
Michigan Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be a resident and live in the state of Michigan
- Must be 18 years of age or older
- Complete 20 hours of pre-licensing education
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Complete a background check
- Complete a 6 hours course on ethics and Michigan insurance law
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $15 license fee
- $40 exam fee
Michigan Life Insurance License Process
- Pre-licensing Education. First you will have to complete 20 hours of pre-licensing education along with a 6 hour course on ethics and Michigan insurance laws.
- Background Check. Complete a the nessisary background check. You will not be required to do fingerprints.
- Pass Exam. Next, you will be required to pass the state approved life insurance exam with at least a 72% or better.
- Apply For License. Finally, once you’ve passed the exam you can apply for you license online.
Contacts And More Information
For more information on how to obtain your Michigan Life Insurance License you can visit the Michigan Dept. of Insurance and Financial Services Website or call them at 1-877-999-6442.