In order to become a life insurance agent in Minnesota you must complete a pre-licensing education course, do a background check with fingerprints, pay the required fees, and pass an exam.
However if you have a CEBS, ChFC, CIC, CFP, CLU, FLMI, or a LUTCF designation you may be exempt from the pre-licensing education course. To learn more check out list
Minnesota Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be 18 years of 18 or older
- Must be a resident and live in the state of Minnesota
- Must complete a 20 hour pre-licensing education course
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Background Check
- Pay Required Fees
- Pass Required Exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $45 Exam Fee
- $50.50 Fingerprint Fee
- $50 License Fee
Minnesota Life Insurance License Process
- Pre-licensing Course. First you need to register and complete the 20 hour pre-licensing education course.
- Background Check an Fingerprints. Next you must have your fingerprints done and do a background check.
- Schedule Exam. Next you will need to schedule your exam and pay the required exam fees.
- Pass Exam. Pass the required state life insurance exam with a 70% or better.
- Apply For Your License. Finally, once you pass your exam you can apply for your license and pay the required license fee.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to obtain your Minnesota Life Insurance License you can go to the Minnesota Division of Insurance website, or by calling them at 1-800-657-3978 in Minnesota, or outside Minnesota at 651-296-6319.