In order to become a life insurance agent in Missouri you must be of age, be a resident or Missouri, pay the required fees, and pass an exam.
What makes Missouri different from other states is that they do not require any pre-licensing education course in order to obtain you life insurance license in Missouri. To get started follow the list of requirements below.
Missouri Life Insurance License Requirements
- You must be at least 18 years of age or older
- Must be a resident and live in the state of Missouri
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Pay the required fees
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $41 Exam Fee
- $100 License Fee
Missouri Life Insurance License Process
- Study. First you will need to study for the life insurance exam.
- Register for Exam. Second, you need to register for the exam and pay the required exam fees.
- Take Exam. Once you’ve registered you will need to take the exam pass it with a 70% or better.
- Apply For License. Finally, once you’ve passed the exam you need to apply the life insurance license and pay the required fees.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to obtain your Missouri Life Insurance License check out Missouri Dept. Insurance website or call them at (573) 751-3518.