In order to obtain your Montana Life Insurance License you must submit your fingerprints, complete a background check, pay the required fees, and pass an exam.
However like several other states Montana does not require that you pass any sort of pre-licensing education course for you to complete. Instead you will have to study for the exam on your own time and take the test once you are ready. To get started below is a list of requirements and steps you should take to get your life insurance license.
Montana Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be 18 years of age
- Must be a resident and reside in the state of Montana
- Must be trustworthy, competent, and reliable
- No Felony Convictions which include crimes of dishonesty and trust
- Submit Fingerprints
- Complete a Background Check
- Pay The Required Fees
- Pass An Exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- No Licensing Fee
- $50.50 Fingerprint Fee
- $68 Exam Fee
Montana Life Insurance License Process
- Study For Exam. In order to get your Montana Life Insurance License you will need to acquire the right study materials, and study for the exam on your own time.
- Register For Exam. Second you will need to register for the exam and pay the required fees.
- Take Exam. Third, take the exam and pass it with a 70% or better.
- Apply For License. Finally, once you’ve passed the exam you can apply for your Montana Life Insurance License.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to get your Montana Life Insurance License visit the Montana Commissioner of Securities and Insurance website or call them at (406) 444-2040.