In order to become a life insurance agent in New Jersey you must complete a pre-licensing education course, do a background check and pass an exam.
If you have the appropriate insurance designation or insurance degree you may be exempt from taking the required pre-licensing education course. However, their is no exemption from taking the New Jersey State Life Insurance exam.
New Jersey Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Must be a resident of the state of New Jersey
- Completer fingerprints and background check
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Complete 20 hours of pre-licensing education
- Pay the require fees
- Pass the exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $150 license fee and last 2 years
- $47 exam fee
New Jersey Life Insurance License Process
- Take Pre-licensing Course. First you will have to pass the 20 hour life insurance pre-licensing education course unless you have an exempt designation.
- Take the Exam. Next you need to schedule and take the exam and get a 70% or higher to pass. You will also be required to pay the necessary exams fees.
- Fingerprints & Background Check. Next you will have to have fingerprints and a complete background check done before you can obtain your life insurance license.
- Apply for Your License. Finally, the last thing to do is file for your New Jersey life insurance license and pay the appropriate license fees.
Contacts And More Information
For more information on obtaining your New Jersey Life Insurance License you can check out the New Jersey Dept. of Banking and Insurance or call them at (609) 292-5427.