In order to become a life insurance agent in New Mexico you must be reliable and trustworthy, study the required materials, pay the required fees, and pass an exam.
However in the state of New Mexico you are not required to take a pre-licensing education course in order to take the life insurance exam. However you will still need to study the required materials in order to pass the exam. To learn review the the list of requirements below.
New Mexico Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be at least 18 years of age or older
- Must be competent and trustworthy
- Must be a resident and live in New Mexico
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Pay the required fees
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $30 License Fee
- $44 Fingerprint Fee
- $20 Appointment Fee
- $80 Exam Fee
New Mexico Life Insurance License Process
- Submit an Application. The first thing you need to do is complete an application and pay the required fees.
- Study. Once you’ve completed the application you will need to buy the appropriate study materials and study for the exam.
- Register For The Exam. Once you are ready register for the exam, complete your fingerprints, and pay the required fees.
- Take Exam. Once registered complete the exam and pass it with a 70% or better.
- Receive License. Once you’ve passed the exam you will receive your license.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to obtain your New Mexico Life Insurance License you can visit the New Mexico Public Regulations Commission website or call them at (505) 827-1246.