In order to obtain a New York Life Insurance License you must be at least 18 years of age, complete the adequate study course, and apply for a license.
However, if you hold a CPCU, CLU, CLUA, ChFC, or a MSFS, you will be exempt from the required prelicensing study course. However if you are also planning to get your health insurance license as well you will have to take a total of 40 hours of prelicensing course time.
Finally the State of New York does not require any finger print impressions for life only or life and health insurance agents, however laws are subject to change.
New York Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be 18 years of age
- Must live in New York State
- No felony convictions which involve a breach of trust or dishonesty
- Must complete a 20 hour pr licensing course time
- Pass the Life Only exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $49 exam fee
- $15 for duplicate license
New York Life Insurance License Process
- Complete Study Course. Complete the required study course of 20 hours.
- Pass the Exam. Complete and pass the Life Only Exam with a 70% or better.
- Submit Application. Submit the completed application to the department within 2 years of passing the exam.
Contacts And More Information
For more information you can check out the New York State of Financial Services, or call them at 518-414-6630 for any questions you have.