In order to obtain your North Dakota Life Insurance License you need to be of age, study the required course materials, pay the required fees, and pass an exam.
However like several other states North Dakota does not require you to complete a pre-licensing education course, nor does it require you to submit fingerprints either. Rather you will have to acquire your course material and study for the exam on your own time. Below is a list of requirements, fees, and steps you need to complete to get your North Dakota Life Insurance License.
North Dakota Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be a resident and reside in the state of Alaska.
- Must be 18 years of age or older.
- Must be competent, trustworthy, and reliable.
- No felony convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty and breach of trust.
- Pay the required fees
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $86 Exam Fee
- $100 License Fee
North Dakota Life Insurance License Process
- Study For The Exam. First off, you will need buy the required study material and prepare for the exam.
- Register For Exam. Once you’ve study the material you will need to set a date and register for the exam and pay the required fees.
- Take The Exam. On the exam day you will want to arrive early be prepared and pass the exam with a 70% or better.
- Apply For The License. Finally, once you’ve passed the exam you can apply for your license and pay the required fees.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to become a life insurance agent in North Dakota you can visit the State of North Dakota Insurance Department website or call them at (701) 328-2440