In order to become a life insurance agent in Ohio you must pass a background check, complete a pre-licensing study course, and pass an exam.
However you if you have a bachlors or associates degree in insurance you will be able to request a pre-licensing education waiver as long as it’s within a 180 day of receiving your degree. Other designations that are exempt from completing the required pre-licensing education is anyone with a CLU, CEBS, ChFC, CIC, CFP, FLMI,and a LUTCH.
Ohio Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Must be a resident of the state of Ohio
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Complete 20 hours of pre-licensing course time
- Fingerprints and background check
- Pass the Life Only Exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $10 for each line of authority (ex. life, health, would be $10 each
- $53 Life Only Exam Fee
Ohio Life Insurance License Process
- Pre-licensing Education. Schedule and complete a 20 hour pre-licensing study course.
- Schedule Exam. Schedule and pay the fee for your exam.
- Background Check. Complete a criminal background check and long with finger prints.
- Take the Exam. Study and pass your exam with at least a 70% or higher.
- Get Your License. Complete the life insurance application through the Ohio Dept. of Insurance and pay the fees.
Contacts And More Information
For more information on how to obtain your Ohio Life Insurance License you check out the Ohio Dept. of Insurance website or call them at (614) 644-2658.