In order to become a life insurance agent in Oregon you must complete a pre-licensing education course, do a background check with fingerprints, and pass an exam.
However if you if you are an insurance adjuster, have passed a surplus lines examination or have a CLU designation you will not be required to take the required pre-licensing education course. Below is a list of requirements you must complete in order to get your Oregon life insurance license.
Oregon Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be a resident and live in the stat of Oregon
- Must be 18 years of age or older
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Complete 20 hours of pre-license education
- Get fingerprints taken
- Complete a background check
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $59.50 License Fee
- $47.50 Background Check Fee
- $45 Exam Fee
Oregon Life Insurance License Process
- Pre-licenseing Course. First you will have to schedule and take the required 20 hour pre-licensing education course.
- Complete Criminal Records Request Form. Next you need to complete the Criminal Records Request for and submit your fingerprints for a full background check.
- Register. Register for your exam and pay the necessary exam fees.
- Take Exam. Third, you pass the state approved life insurance exam with 70% or better.
- Apply For License. Finally, apply for state approved life insurance license.
Contacts And More Information
For more information on how to obtain your Oregon life insurance license you can visit the Oregon Insurance Division Website or call them at (503) 947-7980.