In order to obtain your South Dakota Life Insurance License you must study the required material, pay the required fees, and pass an exam.
However like several other states South Dakota does not require you to take any pre-licensing education course or submit any sort of fingerprints for a background check. Rather you will have to study for the exam on your own time and take the exam when you are ready. To get started, below is a list of requirements, fees, and steps for you to take to get your South Dakota Life Insurance License.
South Dakota Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be a resident and reside in the state of Alaska.
- Must be 18 years of age or older.
- Must be competent, trustworthy, and reliable.
- No felony convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty and breach of trust.
- Pay the required fees
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $89 Exam Fee
- $25 License Fee
South Dakota Life Insurance License Process
- Study For The Exam. The first step is to acquire the necessary study materials and study for the exam.
- Register. Once you feel comfortable with the material you can register for the exam and pay the required fees.
- Take The Exam. On the day of the exam you will want to arrive early, and be well rested. You must have at least a 70% or better to pass.
- Apply For The License. Finally, once you’ve passed the exam you can apply for your license and pay the required fees.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to become a life insurance agent in South Dakota you can visit the South Dakota Dept. of Labor and Regulations website here or call them at (605) 773-3563