In order to become a life insurance agent in Utah you must complete a background check along with fingerprints, pay the required fees, and pass a state approved exam.
However what makes Utah different is that their is no required pre-licensing education course that has to be taken. However you will still need to get the appropriate study materials and study for the exam on your own time. Below is a list of requirements to help you get started.
Utah Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be a resident and live in the state of Utah
- Must be at least 18 years of age or older
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Complete background check
- Pay the required fees
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $20 Fingerprinting Fee
- $36.50 Background check fee
- $75 License Fee
- $72 Exam Fee
- $40 Rescheduling Fee for your exam
Utah Life Insurance License Process
- Study For The Exam. First you will need to order your study materials and study for the exam.
- Complete Background Check. Next you need to complete a background check and submit your fingerprints. You will also have to pay the required fees as well.
- Register for Exam. Next you will have to register for the exam and pay the required exam fees.
- Take Exam. Fourth, you must complete, and pass the exam with a 70% or higher.
- Apply For License. Finally, once you’ve passed the exam you can apply for your Utah Life Insurance License.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to obtain your Utah Life Insurance License you can check out the Utah Insurance Dept. website here or call them at 1-800-439-3805 if you live in Utah or at (801) 538-3855 if you live out of state.