In order to become a life insurance agent in Virgina you must take a pre-licensing education course, pass an exam, and apply for a license.
In Virginia the life exam and annuity exam are taken in conjunction with each other and not separately. However, if you hold a CLU designation you can apply without taking the pre-licensing exam. Finally, in Virginia you will not have take any fingerprints to get licensed but you will be required to submit a criminal history report.
Virginia Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Must be a resident of the state of Virginia
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Submit a current criminal history report
- Must complete 16 hours of pre-licensing education
- Pay the required fees
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $15 Application Fee
- $58 Exam Fee
Virginia Life Insurance License Process
- Take Pre-Licensing Classes. Sign up and take the require 16 hours of pre-licensing education.
- Take Exam. Schedule, study and take the require Life and Annuities Exam and pass it with at least a 70% or better.
- Apply For License. Complete and apply for your license, and pay the necessary license fees . You will also be need to submit a current criminal history report that is no more than 90 days old.
Contacts And More Information
For more information on obtaining your Virginia Life Insurance License you can check out the Virginia SCC Bureau of Insurance website or call them at (804) 371-9631.