In order to obtain your Washington Life Insurance License you must complete a pre-licensing education course, submit your fingerprints, complete a background check, and pass an exam.
However you may be exempt from taking the required pre-licensing education classes if you have certain designations. To get started review the list of requirements, fees, and steps below.
Washington Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be at least 18 years of age or older
- Must live in the state of Washington and reside in that state
- Must be trustworthy, competent, and reliable
- Complete a 20 hour pre-licensing course
- No felony convictions which include crimes of dishonesty and breach of trust
- Submit Fingerprints
- Complete a background check
- Pay the required fees
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $5 Initial Filing Fee
- $55 License Fee
- $49 Life Insurance Exam Fee
- $62.50 For Hard Copy Fingerprint Fee
- $52.50 For e-Fingerprint Processing
- Course Materials, and Pre-licensing course fees may apply
Washington Life Insurance License Process
- Take Pre-licensing Education Course. The first step to getting your Washington Life Insurance License is taking the required 20 pre-licensing education course.
- Make Exam Reservations. Once you’ve taken the required pre-licensing education course you can schedule your exam and pay the required fees.
- Take The Exam. Once you’ve scheduled the exam you take it and pass it with a 70% or better.
- Apply For Your License. Once you’ve passed the exam you can apply for license and pay the required fees.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to become a life insurance agent in the state of Washington you can visit the Washington Office For Insurance Commissioner Website here, or call them at (306) 725-7144.