In order to become a life insurance agent in Wisconsin you must complete a background check with fingerprints, complete a 20 hour pre-licensing education course, pay the required fees, and pass an exam.
However if you have a CEBS, CFP, CIC, ChCF, CLU, FLMI, or a LUTCF designation or a 4 year degree in insurance you may be exempt from taking the required pre-licensing education course. Below is a list of requirements to help you get started.
Wisconsin Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must at least 18 years of age or older
- Must be a resident and live in the state of Wisconsin
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Background Check
- 20 hours of pre-licensing education
- Pay the required fees
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $75 Exam Fee
- $48.50 Fingerprint fee
- $75 Licensing Fee
Wisconsin Life Insurance License Process
- Complete Pre-licensing Education. Sign up and complete the required 20 hour pre-licensing education course.
- Make Reservations. Make reservations to take the exam and to get your fingerprints done.
- Take Exam. Take the life insurance exam and pass it with at least a 70% or better.
- Get Fingerprints and Background Check Done. Once you’e passed the exam you need to have your fingerprints collect and complete a background report.
- Apply For License. Finally, apply for the license and pay the required license fee.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to get your Wisconsin Life Insurance License you can visit the Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance Website or call them at (608) 266-8699 or at 1-800-236-8517.