In order to become a life insurance agent in Arkansas you must complete a background, complete a pre-licensing education course, pay the required fees, and pass an exam.
However if you hold certain designations you may be exempt from the required pre-licensing education course. You are also exempt if you are a non-resident of the state of Arkansas. To get started review the list of requirements below.
Arkansas Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be at least 18 years of age or older
- Must be a resident and live in the state of Arkansas
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Must be competent, reliable, and trustworthy
- 20 hours of pre-license education course
- Pay the required fees
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $84 Exam Fee
- $22 Background Check
- $180 License Fee
Arkansas Life Insurance License Process
- Take Pre-Licensing Course. First, you need register and take the required pre-licensing education course.
- Apply For License. Next you need to apply for your license and pay the required fee.
- Register For Exam. Third you need to register for the exam and have your fingerprints taken.
- Take Exam. Finally you need to take the exam and get a 70% or better and receive your license.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to get your Arkansas Life Insurance License visit the Arkansas Insurance Department website or call them at (501) 371-2750.