In order to obtain your Connecticut Life Insurance License you must complete a pre-licensing education course, pay the required fees, and pass an exam.
However if you hold a CEBS, CFP, ChFC, CIC, FLMI, or a LUTCF designation you may be exempt from taking the required pre-licensing education course. On top of that if you also hold the CLU designation you may also be exempt from taking the required life insurance exam. Below is a list of requirements, fees, and steps you must complete to get your Connecticut Life Insurance License.
Connecticut Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Must live and reside in the state of Connecticut
- Must be trustworthy, competent, and reliable
- No felony convictions which include crimes of distrust and honesty
- Complete a 40 hour pre-licensing education course
- Pay the required fees
- Complete the necessary application paperwork
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $50 Exam Fee
- $140 Licensing Fee
- $160 Renewal Fee
Connecticut Life Insurance License Process
- Complete The Pre-licensing Course. First you will need to complete the 40 hour pre-licensing education course.
- Register For The Exam. Next, you will need to register for the exam and pay the required exam fees.
- Take The Exam. Once you are registered for the exam you will need to pass it with a 70% or better.
- Apply For The License. Finally, you will need to complete the application process and pay the required fees.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more about becoming a life insurance agent in Connecticut you can visit the Connecticut Insurance Department website or by calling them at (860) 297-3845.