In order to become a life insurance agent in Georgia you need to pass a pre-licensing study course, complete and pass an exam, and finally apply for your license.
However you may be exempt from the required education and exam requirements if you have a CLU, a PhD in insurance, or FLMI. Georgia also requires fingerprints which must be submitted electronically.
Georgia Life Insurance License Requirements
- 20 Hours Life Course
- Fingerprints submitted electricly
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Must be a resident of Georgia
- Must be 18 years of age or older
- Pay Fees.
- Pass Exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $90 Exam Fee
- $15 Application Fee
- $50 License Fee
Georgia Life Insurance License Process
- Complete Pre-Licensing Education. Complete the require course time.
- Fingerprints. Complete and send in electronic fingerprints.
- Reservation & Fees. Reserve a time and date to take your exam and pay the fees. This must be done within 12 months of taking the pre-licensing course.
- Pass Exam. Go to the test center on the date you’ve chosen and pass the exam with a 70% or better.
- Apply For Your License. Once you’ve passed your test you can file to get your license.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more about getting your Georgia life insurance license you can check out the Georgia Dept. of Insurance or call 1-800-656-2298.