In order to obtain your Idaho Life Insurance License you must submit your fingerprints for a complete background check, pay the required fees, and pass an exam.
However like several other states, Idaho does not require that you complete any sort of pre-licensing course in order for you to sit for the Idaho Life Insurance Exam. You will however, have to study for the exam on your own time and register for the exam when you are ready. Below is a list of requirements and steps you can take to get started.
Idaho Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be resident of the state of idaho and reside in that state
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Must be trustworthy, competent, and reliable
- No felony convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty and breach of trust.
- Submit fingerprints
- Complete a background check
- Pass An Exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $60 Exam Fee
- $80 License Fee
- $60 Fingerprint Fee
Idaho Life Insurance License Process
- Study For Exam. Idaho does not require you to take a pre-licensing course so you have to study for the exam on your own time.
- Register For Exam. Once you are ready to take the exam you can register and pay the required fees.
- Take The Exam. Once you’ve registered, take the exam on the required day and pass it with a 70% or better.
- Apply For License. Finally once you’ve passed the exam you can apply for your life insurance license and pay the required fees.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to get your Idaho Life Insurance License visit the Idaho Department of Insurance website.