In order to become a life insurance agent in Illinois you mus take a pre-licensing course, and pass an exam.
However if you hold a CEBS, ChFC, CIC, CFP, CLU, FLMI, LUTCF you may be exempt from pre-licensing training. One thing that is unique about Illinois is that they do not require any fingerprint or background check to be done. However, laws are subject to change at anytime.
Illinois Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be 18 years of age older
- Must be a legal resident
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Complete 20 hours of pre-licensing training
- Pay the fees
- Pass the exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $180 License Fee
- $103 Examination Fee
Illinois Life Insurance License Process
- Pre-licensing Education. Complete the 20 hours of pre-licensing training. 7.5 of the required hours must be held in a classroom.
- Schedule Exam. Next you will have to schedule your exam and pay the exam fee.
- Take The Test. Pass the required Illinois State Life Insurance Exam with a 70% or better.
- Get Your License. Once you’ve passed the exam you have to wait 5 days and then you can apply for your license online.
Contacts And More Information
You can learn more about getting your Illinois Life Insurance License by going to the Illinois Dept of Insurance Website or by calling them at (217) 782-6366.