In order to become a life insurance agent in Louisiana you must complete a pre-licensing education course, submit your fingerprints for a background check, pay the required fees, and pass an exam.
However if you have a CEBS, ChCF, CIC, CFP, CLLU, FLMI, or a LUTCF designation you may be exempt from taking the required pre-licensing education course. However their is no exemption from taking the exam. To get started review the list of requirements below.
Louisiana Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be a resident and live in the state of Louisiana
- Must be at least 18 years of age or older
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Must be trustworthy and of sound mind
- Complete a 2o hours pre-licensing education course
- Pay the required fees
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $75 License Fee
- $72.25 Fingerprint Fee
- $50 Exam Fee
Louisiana Life Insurance License Process
- Submit License Application. You need to file an application with Siron and pay the required license application fee.
- Complete Pre-licensing Course. Second, you need to complete the required 20 hour pre-licensing education course.
- Schedule Exam. Once you’ve completed the pre-licensing course you need to schedule your exam, fingerprint appointment, and pay the required exam and fingerprint fees.
- Take Exam. Next you need to complete and pass the life insurance exam with 70% or better.
- Receive Your License. Once you’ve passed the exam your license will be printed and mailed to you.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to get your Louisiana Life Insurance License visit the Louisiana Department of Insurance website or by calling them at (225) 342-0860.