In order to become a life insurance agent in Nevada you must complete a pre-licensing education course, complete a background check with fingerprints, and pass an exam.
However if you hold special insurance designations you may be exempt from the required pre-licensing education course but you will still be required to take the approved state life insurance exam. Below is a list of requirements you need to complete in order to get your Nevada Life Insurance License.
Nevada Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be a resident and live in the state of Nevada
- Must be at least 18 years of age or older
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Complete Fingerprints
- Pay the required fees
- 20 hours of pre-licensing education
- Complete a background check
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $195 Application Fee
- $55.25 for electric fingerprints and background check
- $55 Exam Fee
Nevada Life Insurance License Process
- Pre-licensing Education. First you need to register and complete 20 hours of pre-licensing education.
- Fingerprint Registration. Next you need to set an appointment to have your fingerprints and background check done. You will also have to pay the required fees as well.
- Exam Registration. Next you will have to register for your exam pay the required exam fee.
- Take Exam. Fourth, you must complete and pass the required exam with a 70% or better.
- Apply For License. Finally, you must apply for your license.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to obtain your Nevada Life Insurance License you can check out the Nevada Dept. of Insurance website or call them at (775) 687-0700.