In order become a life insurance agent in Pennsylvania you most complete a background check, take a pre-licensing education course, and pass an exam.
However if you hold a CLU, or a CIC designation you will be exempt from taking the exam. You will simply just have to send in your diploma designation for approval. Finally, you will have two hours to complete the 100 question test. Below is a list of the basic requirements to get started
Pennsylvania Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be 18 years of age or higher
- Must be a resident of Pennsylvania
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Complete 24 hours of pre-license training including 3 hours on ethics
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $20 for live scan fingerprinting service fee
- $39 fingerprint fee and background check
- $55 resident application fee
Pennsylvania Life Insurance License Process
- Complete Pre-licensing Education. Complete the 24 hour pre-licensing course.
- Background Check. Complete the nessisary background check and finger prints.
- Schedule Exam. Schedule, take, and pass the exam with at least a 70% or better.
- Get Your License. Once you’ve passed the exam you can apply for your license.
Contacts And More Information
For more information on getting your Pennsylvania life insurance license you can check out the Pennsylvania Insurance Dept. Website or call (717) 787-3840.