In order to become a life insurance agent in Tennessee you must take pre-licensing education course, complete a background check with fingerprints, pay the required fees, and pass an exam.
However if you hold a CLU, CIC, CFP, CEBS, ChFC, or LUTCF designation you may be exempt from taking the required pre-licensing education course. To learn more review the listed requirements below.
Tennessee Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be at least 18 years of age or older
- Must be a resident and live in the state of Tennessee
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
- Background Check
- Complete 20 hours of pre-licensing education
- Pay the required fees
- Pass an exam
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $50 Exam Fee
- $52 License Fee
Tennessee Life Insurance License Process
- Complete Pre-License Course. First you will need to complete a 20 hour pre-licensing education course.
- Make Exam Reservation. Next you need to make a reservation for your exam, submit you fingerprints, and background check paperwork, and pay the required fees.
- Take Exam. Third, you need to take the required state exam and pass it with a 70% or better.
- Apply For License. Finally, you can apply for the license online once you’ve passed the test, and paid the required filing fee.
Contacts And More Information
To learn more on how to get your Tennessee Life Insurance License you can check out the Tennessee Dept. of Insurance website or by calling them at (615) 741-2693 or a 1-888-416-0868.