In order to become a life insurance agent in Texas you must submit your finger print impressions, complete an application, and pass an exam.
However what makes Texas unique is that they do no require any prelicensing study course. Most typical states will require anywhere from 20 to 40 hours of prelicensing course time but not with Texas. On top of that if you hold a CLU, CPCU, AIC, ChFC, CFP, CIC, or ARM designation you will not be required to take the life insurance exam.
Texas Life Insurance License Requirements
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Be a resident of the state of Texas
- Must pass the life only exam
- Pay Fees
- Get Fingerprints taken
- No Felony Convictions, which include crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust
Other Requirements That May Be Helpful
- Good communication skills
- Understanding personal finance
- Series 6 License which would allow you to sell variable products (ex. variable life insurance)
Fees: All Fees Are Nonrefundable
- $48 Exam Fee
- $50 License Fee
- $50 Renewal Fee and an extra $25 for renewing late.
Texas Life Insurance License Process
- Exam Registration. Make an exam registration and pay the necessary fees either online or over the phone.
- Fingerprint Registration. Make a fingerprint registration either online or over the phone.
- Take Exam. Next you will need to complete and pass the Life Only Exam and get a 70% or higher.
- Get Fingerprints. Go to a designated location which will take a digital fingerprint scan.
- Apply For License. Finally, you will need to send in the final application to receive your license.
Contacts And More Information
For more information to get your Texas Life Insurance License please contact the Texas Department of Insurance or can call them at (512) 322-3503